UAE Clinches the Gulf Cup in a nail-biting finish

footballUAE emerged victorious after defeating Iraq (2-1) at the Gulf Cup finals in what can only be described a thriller match. UAE battled with Iraq in the finals to win this title in extra time. This title was last won by UAE in 2007. Delirious fans poured out into the street to welcome the victory.

“I am proud of being the first national coach to lead the UAE to claim their Gulf Cup title, for the second time ever, and for the first time abroad. I am extremely happy that I am the first Emirati to lead our team to this victory. It is really wonderful.” said coach Mahdi Ali

The 2013 Gulf Cup of Nations was the twenty first edition of the biennial football competition. It took place in Bahrain. The countries participating in the tournament were :

Bahrain (hosts)
Kuwait (holders)
Saudi Arabia
United Arab Emirates

Leave a Reply