UAE public holidays in 2017

The Abu Dhabi government has just released the list of public holidays in the UAE for 2017.

According to the list, the total duration of holidays for government offices this year will be at least two weeks, with special dates falling almost every month.

The list serves as the official reference to determine special occasions in the Islamic calendar, such as the start of Ramadan or Haj, and other dates designated for celebrating important events.

“The following list shows the public holidays in the UAE for the year 2017. The official reference to determine Islamic occasions, such as the beginning of Ramadan or Haj, is the Hijri calendar. It is based on the phases of the moon. Hence, the exact dates of Islamic events vary from one Gregorian year to another as they depend on the local sightings of the moon,” the announcement stated.

Public Holidays in 2017

Occasion Gregorian Year 2017 Hijri Year 1438 Holiday Duration
New Year Jan 1, 2017 1
Israa & Miaraj Night* April 24, 2017 27 Rajab 1
Ramadan expected to begin* May 27, 2017 1 Ramadan
Eid Al Fitr* June 25, 2017 1 Shawwal 3
Hajj season* August 23, 2017 1 Dhu Al-Hijjah
Arafat Day* August 31, 2017 9 Dhu Al-Hijjah 1
Eid Al Adha* September 1, 2017 10 Dhu Al-Hijjah 3
Hijri New Year’s Day* September 22, 2017 1 Muharram 1439 1
Martyr’s Day November 30, 2017 1
Prophet Mohammed’s Birthday* November 30, 2017 12 Rabi’ Al-Awwal 1
UAE National Day December 2, 2017 2

*Islamic holiday exact dates are subject to moon sighting and may differ from date given.

Read more on Gulf News

Leave a Reply